Skip to content
Home » List Of Banks In The Philippines

List Of Banks In The Philippines

List Of Banks In The Philippines
List Of Banks In The Philippines

The Philippines banking system is comprehensive and encompasses different types of banks.

These banks range from large banks, small banks, savings banks, rural banks, thrift banks, and digital banks – under the regulation and supervision of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP).

Based on the BSP circular, under the General Banking Act of 2000, the number of registered banks includes the following

  • 36 universal and commercial banks
  • 57 savings banks
  • 492 rural banks
  • 40 credit unions
  • 6,267 non-banks with quasi-banking functions

Aside from the regular banking services provided by commercial and universal banks, there are also banks with smaller functions that are licensed under BSP.

These can be loans, savings, and thrift associations, based in rural or municipal communities. There are also savings services for the government and employees. In particular, retirees in the police organization and the armed forces of the Philippines use the Armed Forces and Police Savings and Loan Association, Inc. or AFPSLAI.

Following are 43 banks listed with the largest assets in the Philippines, as registered at the BSP official site, as of December 2017.

The smallest is Al-Amanah Islamic Bank while the largest of these is BDO Unibank

  • Al-Amanah Islamic Bank
  • Asia United Bank Corporation (AUB)
  • Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (ANZ)
  • BDO Unibank, Inc. (BDO)
  • Bank of America, N.A.
  • Bank of China – Manila Branch
  • Bank of Commerce (a subsidiary of San Miguel Corporation)
  • Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI)
  • Bangkok Bank Co. Ltd.
  • Cathay United Bank Co. Ltd. – Manila Branch
  • Chang Hwa Commercial Bank LTD – Manila Branch
  • China Banking Corporation (Chinabank)
  • Chinatrust Philippines Commercial Bank Corporation (Chinatrust)
  • CIMB Bank Philippines Inc.
  • Citibank Philippines
  • Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP, secondary government bank)*
  • Deutsche Bank
  • East West Banking Corporation (EastWest Bank)
  • First Commercial Bank Manila
  • Hua Nan Commercial Bank Ltd. Manila
  • Industrial Bank of Korea Manila Branch
  • ING Group N.V.
  • JPMorgan Chase & Co. (JPMorgan Chase)
  • KEB Hana Bank – Manila Branch
  • Land Bank of the Philippines (Landbank; LBP, main government bank)*
  • Maybank Philippines, Inc.
  • Mega International Commercial Bank Co. LTD
  • Metropolitan Bank and Trust Company (Metrobank)
  • Mizuho Bank, Ltd. Manila Branch
  • MUFG Bank, Ltd.
  • Philippine Bank of Communications (PBCom)
  • Philippine National Bank (PNB)
  • Philippine Trust Company (Philtrust Bank)
  • Philippine Veterans Bank (Veterans Bank; PVB)
  • Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation (RCBC)
  • Robinsons Bank Corporation (RBank)
  • Security Bank Corporation (Security Bank)
  • Shinhan Bank – Manila Branch
  • Standard Chartered Bank Philippines
  • Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation Manila Branch
  • The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited
  • Union Bank of the Philippines, Inc. (Unionbank)
  • United Coconut Planters Bank (UCPB)
  • United Overseas Bank Limited Manila Branch

Source: Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

What’s your Reaction?

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *